Director, AsiaLegal LLC
Professional Background

Timothy graduated from the National University of Singapore with 2nd Class (Upper Division) Honours in 1987.  He served his pupillage at M/s Khattar Wong & Partners and was called to the Singapore Bar as an Advocate and Solicitor in 1988.

In 1991, he was awarded the prestigious British Commonwealth Young Lawyer’s Fellowship as Singapore's representative, which incorporated practical attachments to Counsel's Chambers at Essex Chambers and the Britannia and Steamship P & I Clubs.  His early years of practice were devoted to securing a strong grounding in civil litigation, dealing in general and motor insurance claims, personal injury actions as well as medical negligence matters.

Timothy was inducted into and practised in the Shipping Department of M/s Khattar Wong & Partners from 1990 to 1999 and was admitted as a partner of the firm in 1995. He was Deputy Head of the Department at the time he left to join M/s Joseph Tan Jude Benny as a partner in September 1999. He joined AsiaLegal LLC as one of its principal directors in January 2003 and has also been a Commissioner for Oaths and Notary Public since 2003. Timothy is also a Teaching Fellow of the Singapore Institute of Legal Education and has been tutoring in the Admiralty Practice component for several years.

Timothy has also delivered many papers and presentations, notably at the SCMA Conference 2012 (covering the issues relating to private judicial sales, a harbinger of the reported decision in Turtle Bay & Union Gold) and writing a published article “Tonnage Limitation in Singapore: Out with the Old, In with the New” (2005) 5(1) S&TLI 29.

Phone: 65 - 6538 9984 (direct), 65 - 9635 1771 (mobile)

 E-mail: timothy@asialegal.com.sg

 Country of Residence:Singapore



Member of the Singapore Academy of Law

Member of the Law Society of Singapore

Commissioner for Oaths

Notary Public

Teaching Fellow, Singapore Institute of Legal Education

    Graduated from the National University of Singapore with 2nd Class (Upper Division) Honours in 1987